CWA Awards Program Overview

The Climbing Wall Association Awards Program honors significant achievements and outstanding contributions to the indoor climbing industry. The CWA encourages nominations to be submitted on behalf of individuals or teams whose work has made a meaningful impact on the growth, professionalism, innovation, safety, and/or improvement of the indoor climbing community


The CWA presents awards based on four categories: the CWA Service Award, the CWA Innovation Award, the CWA Special Achievement Award, and the CWA Lifetime Achievement Award. Awards will be presented at the CWA Summit in Loveland, CO on May 16, 2018. 

In order to nominate a candidate for a CWA award, you must fill out this nomination form by Friday, March 15, 2019. Read on to learn about the awards. The links to the left provide a full description, including eligibility and selection criteria, for each award.  

CWA Service Award

The CWA Service Award recognizes outstanding contributions made to the association by a member or volunteer during the preceding three years. The CWA Service Award is presented to a person or group that has established a consistent record of significant contributions to the Climbing Wall Association over time. Members or volunteers who have contributed to raising the profile of the CWA, enhancing the reputation of the CWA’s or demonstrated outstanding service in enabling CWA to accomplish its vision, mission or to further its programs are eligible for nomination.

CWA Innovation Award

The CWA Innovation Award is given periodically to a person or organization in recognition of a product, service or program that demonstrates an ongoing commitment to innovation for the advancement of recreational indoor climbing. Innovation is exhibited through new-to-the-world products or services leading to improved customer experiences, satisfaction and loyalty while realizing significant market or business impact. The Innovation Award is accompanied by a prize of $500.00. Innovation award winners are driven by market insights, existing and emerging consumer preferences, and a desire to continuously improve the industry in order to provide an elevated recreational climbing experience.

CWA Special Achievement Award

The CWA Special Achievement Award provides recognition to a person who has accomplished something noteworthy in the sport of climbing or indoor climbing. The award recognizes outstanding and unusual achievement in athletics, sports participation, business or public service. The award consists of a commemorative plaque and support for the recipient to attend the CWA annual conference.

CWA Lifetime Achievement Award

The CWA Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has performed outstanding service and have realized significant accomplishments for the climbing wall industry. The Award is intended to celebrate individuals who, during their lifetimes, have made significant contributions to the field of recreational climbing throughout their career or for a significant portion of their career. The Lifetime Achievement Award is the CWA's highest honor.

The application deadline is Friday, March 15, 2019. Apply now!